The History of the Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science


University journalism education in Ukraine was established in the postwar period – first in Kharkiv, then in Kyiv and Lviv. Almost at the same time, in July-August 1953, the Faculty of Journalism was founded at the University of Kyiv and the Journalism Department was founded in Lviv, which was reorganized into the Faculty of Journalism within a year. V.T. Dmytruk was appointed as the first Dean. He also headed the Department of Journalism at the Faculty. The basic courses were provided by Lecturers Ya.P. Biloshtan, V.M. Boyanovych and I.I. Doroshenko.

The professional formation of the Faculty was difficult. There were not enough staff, programs and textbooks. There was insufficient material base.

For a long time the Faculty had only one Department. In 1971 it was divided into the Department of History of Journalism and the Department of Theory and Practice of the Press, from which the Department of Stylistics and Editing later (1973) separated.  At the end of the 1960s and in the early 1970s first Professors appeared, creating a specialized council on thesis defense.

Except for the mentioned V.T. Dmytruk, V.M. Boyanovych, Ya.P. Biloshtan, in different years the Faculty Deans were Y.T. Tsokh, D.S. Hryhorash, M.F. Nechytaliuk, P.Y. Yashchuk,  V.Y. Zdoroveha and B.V. Potyatynyk. Today this position is occupied by M.P. Prysyazhnyy.

The history of the Faculty of Journalism is complex and controversial. The totalitarian system severely dealt with many of its students. The victim of repression was a young Lecturer M.H., who after long camp wanderings returned to us and obtained a PhD, but soon afterwards he passed away.

During the years of its existence, more than 4,000 specialists, working in Ukraine and abroad, graduated from the Faculty. Many of them received various awards, became honored journalists, honored employees of the Ukrainian culture, editors of highly respected editions, directors of TV and radio companies, directors of publishing houses. More than 50 graduates received PhD degrees and ten degrees of Doctors of Sciences.

Modern journalism is a highly intellectual sphere, it is the romance of constant search and self-assertion in a difficult and sometimes dangerous way to the truth. Therefore, it needs brave and persistent people, educated and devoted to state’s ideals with healthy soul and body, sensitive and not indifferent to the grief of others. Many of these graduated from Ivan Franko National University of Lviv after studying at the Faculty of Journalism.

Among the  graduates is the General  Director of the Ukrainian Independent News Agency (UNIAN) Mykhailo Batih, editor-in-chief of the newspaper “Youth of Ukraine” Volodymyr Bodenchuk, deputy editor-in-chief of  the “Mirror of the Week” newspaper  Mykhailo Migal, editor- in-chief of the newspaper “High Castle” Stepan Kurpil, editor-in-chief of  the newspaper “Express” Igor Pochinok, the well-known sports telecommenter  Alexander Glyvinsky. This list can be continued, because there is no such point on the map of Ukraine where the graduates of the department of journalism would not work. Experienced  teachers – professors, assistant professors, assistants who are also highly professional journalists  helped  them to become good specialists and find their place in the informational space of Ukraine. And professors V.J. Zdoroveha, V.V. Lyzanchuk, Y.D. Los have honored titles of honored  journalists of Ukraine.

There are six departments on the faculty:
• Theory and practice of  journalism;
• Ukrainian press;
• Foreign press and information;
• Broadcasting and Television;
• Languages of mass media;
• Department of New Media.

Except for the provision of training courses, lecturers within the time of work perform  important scientific themes:
• Socio-political and theoretical aspects of Ukrainian periodical press;
• Ukrainian journalism and global informational order;
• Electronic mass media and the problem of formation of Ukrainian state-building thinking;
• Basic regularities and tendencies of language development by means of mass media.
The results of scientific  researches are  published in the textbooks, manuals, monographs, in particular:


  • prof. V. Y. Zdoroveha “Theory and methodology of journalistic creativity”
  • prof. V.V. Lyzanchuk “Forever Chains Forged. Facts, Documents, Comments on Russification in Ukraine,” “Radio Science: Functioning Tools”
  • prof. M.F. Nechytaliuk “Honor work!” academician MykhailoVoznyak in memoirs and publications “and his editors” Ukrainian press.Chronicle “
  • associate professor M.P. Prysyazhnyy “Press of the Ukrainian emigration in Germany: formation, development, thematic politics (1945-1953)”
  • associate professor A.O.Kapelyushny “Deviatology of mass-media” and “Practical stylistics of the Ukrainian language”
  • prof. Shapoval Y.G. “Dilo” (1880-1939): The progress of Ukrainian public opinion “,” Literary and Scientific Newsletter “(1898-1932): Creation of the state ideology of Ukraine”
  • prof. O.A. Serbenska “Editorial Writing in the Interpretation of Ivan Franko,” “An Upper Interview with Linguistics”
  • prof. O.D. Kuznetsova “Journalistic Ethics and Etiquette”
  • prof.  S. M. Andrusiv “ Modus of national identity: Lviv text in 30-th of XX century”
  • prof.   I. V. Krupskyy “National-patriotic  journalism of Ukraine”

The results of scientific and educational-didactic researches are also published in correspondence, department’s published collections, brochures, articles, materials of scientific conferences.

Faculty constantly supports and strengthens ties with the Institute of journalism at  Kyiv Taras Shevchenko National  University, with faculties of journalism in Prague, Moscow, Strasbourg universities, with the Institute of journalism at Warsaw University, Institute of publishing at Vienna University, Ukrainian Free University in Munich and others.

The faculty prepares specialists for mass media, news agencies, press services and organizations, advertising agencies. Specialists’ training is carried out according to full-time or part-time programs.

Students study at the faculty according to a three-level system – in four years they become bachelors of journalism, and through the year they receive a diploma of a specialist. Moreover, those students who are more gifted and hard-working are able to become masters of journalism. The training is as much as possible adapted to the needs of modern Ukrainian mass-media, and students, starting from the third year of studying, refine their mastery in the following areas:

  • work in the press and in news agencies;
  • journalistic work on the radio and television;
  • editing in mass media;
  • international journalism.

Those who choose the latest specialization, study abroad during their studies, study one of the Western European languages more intensively and, after completing the state exam, receive additional translation qualifications.

Literature, history, Ukrainian and Slavic languages, philosophy, sociology, social psychology, the history of world and Ukrainian culture, the fundamentals of computer science and technology are profoundly studied at the faculty as well as other special disciplines. A considerable amount of time students are practicing in mass media of Ukraine.

The faculty has an educational TV and radio studio, equipped with modern television and radio equipment, a photo lab, a computer class, a laboratory of journalistic workmanship, and a library. Starting from the first days of studying, students acquire practical skills releasing their newspaper and preparing television and radio programs.